With Thanksgiving less than a week away, I’m sure you’ve been salivating thinking of all the goodies awaiting you.  Turkey, cranberry sauce, green bean casserole, and of course, pumpkin pie.  However, Nestle reports that America’s favorite autumn dessert might be a rarity this year.  Sigh.

It seems that heavy rain has waterlogged pumpkin patches across the country, allowing these precious fall necessities to deteriorate before they can be harvested.

I am a pumpkin connoisseur, loving everything from pumpkin pie to pumpkin ice cream to my famous pumpkin chocolate chip squares.  And I must say, I have noticed an understocked canned pumpkin section next to the cherry and assorted berry pie fillings at the local Kroger.

This post alone risks the chance of the ever so decadent pumpkin chocolate chip “delights”, as I refer to them, from making it to my family’s table next Thursday.   But the public must know.

So this year, instead of pumpkin pie, you may find yourself gorging on pecan, apple, or even lemon pies.  But then again, there is always next year.

Links used: http://finance.yahoo.com/news/Rain-may-put-pumpkin-pie-in-apf-1323181927.html?x=0&.v=7

